A recent family bereavement made me think about the loss of a loved one.

 

So sorry for your loss, they murmur
If there’s anything I can do…
I nod and shake their hands
And robot like, repeat thank you.

What else can they say?
It’s awkward to be near grief
Especially so raw
Time’s a terrible thief

I feel like I’m gliding
It all seems so surreal
Like this isn’t my life
Like I don’t know how I feel

Soon though I’ll be angry
That he left me on my own
That I didn’t go first
Into the unknown

Then I’ll sink into gloom
Though my tears won’t bring him back
I’ll want life as it was
Before it all went black.

It’s a lie, what they say
Time. It doesn’t heal
You just have to cope
With life’s crappy deal.

Leave a Reply

