Be careful…

I belong to the grammar police
It has a spelling department too
Every time that I see a mistake
My verbal handcuffs could be on you

I’ll give you a little example
When someone says they have a sole mate
Do they refer to a friendly shoe
Or soul as in their spiritual state?

Then there’s there and their and also they’re
And write and rite and even what’s right
I’ve seen it wrong on formal letters
Despite the might of spellcheck’s insight

I’m also talking punctuation
As in it’s and its and you’re and your
Apostrophes for simple plurals
Like ‘photo’s, just use the ’s’, not more

All language is now in my remit
So don’t let me start on cliches please
They are among the worst offenders
I’d put handcuffs on and lose the keys

Leave a Reply

